Suffer for Fashion


Style Tribe-less?
December 28, 2008, 2:30 pm
Filed under: Erdem, Musings, My Closet

What with Christmas shopping/designing, and general recent shopping-ness, I’ve been thinking a lot about my style, other people’s styles, and style in general. I often see things in stores that I shrug my shoulders at and decide “that’s not really my style.” But what exactly is my style? When I walk down the street, I inevitably notice what people are wearing, and I immediately kind of form a picture of what their style is, and even a little bit of what kind of person they are (although I fully realize the person may be extremely different than the clothes). I see people all over the place that have a very specific personal style, and I’m a little jealous of their consistency. People like Kate Lanphear, Emmanuelle Alt, Carine Roitfeld, all have a distinct personal style, and a superb one at that. Even people who claim they aren’t really the pigeon-holing type have a specific personal flair (Susie Bubble), even if they wear extremely varied garb. But I can’t really say I have anything like a set personal style. Perhaps I’m too close to my own wardrobe to see it, but it seems to me like I’m just too greedy to settle on one “look” (I hesitate to call it a look, because the people I mentioned don’t really have one look, they just have some kind of distinguishable/indistinguishable quality that ties their clothes together). Sure, I tend to favor black, grey, and navy blue, but I have more than my fair share of brightly colored clothes, and when I look at myself in the mirror on various days, I could be wearing floaty dresses, a beat-up concert t and jeans, gigantic Balenciaga boots, giant mustard-y fuzzy shrugs, or any number of other strangely dissonant pieces of clothing. Most days, I feel lazy anyway, and just throw on whatever I reach for first in my closets. Sort of like my musical taste, my personal style seems to me to be a hodgepodge of things that catch my eye and my heart, but my heart is so ADD that it can’t be bothered to adhere to any kind of consistent taste.

Even Susie, in her infinite outfit-creating ways, has a distinct style!

Even Susie, in her infinite outfit-creating ways, has a distinct style!

So while I’d love to belong to some kind of style tribe, I have that perpetual human feeling of never fitting in (or am I the only one who ever feels like that?), of even fitting in with…myself. I would resolve to choose/develop a set personal style for myself, but as soon as I do, I get sort of panicked because I feel sort of repressed, and I have trouble making decisions because I’m always terrified of making the wrong one. Take, for example, my new Erdem dress. You haven’t seen it yet, but it’s got the prettiest sheer silk half-sleeves, a slightly drop-waisted ties, has a typically gorgeous Erdem floral print in purples and chartreuses and greens, and general float-y prettiness. It’s not exactly what most of my friends would picture when describing the type of things I would wear, but I LOVED it immediately, and, in my magpie, secret color-hoarding ways, had to have it. And that’s just one of the many rando things scattered throughout my closet, so many rando things that my entire closet(s) have become a throbbing mass of randomness

I even wear sweatervests!

I even wear sweatervests!

But what am I supposed to do about my lack of sartorial consistency? The defiant part of me shakes a fist at the world and doesn’t give a flying frog, but the more practical “in just a couple years you’ll be in the real world” part of me is a leeeetle concerned that when I’m not just a freewheeling student I’ll regret being such a greedy, grubby little style-freak, and that I will come across as having no personal style at all. In the end, I doubt I’ll change all that much, but one of my many, many New Year’s Resolutions is to try to either develop a slightly more consistent personal style, or learn to at least look at my clothing as adhering to some kind of consistent…thing. I guess I will add that to the many ongoing in-closet projects of mine. And yes, I am probably overthinking all of this.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

See here!! An absolutely amazing post for the London Fashion Week street snap!

Enjoy it! I

http://evidentlyeverywhere.wordpress.com/2009/02/25/yuans-in-yuans-out-8/

Comment by JingYi Yuan




Leave a Reply

