Suffer for Fashion


I Don’t Care What You Think
November 13, 2008, 1:06 am
Filed under: Musings, My Closet
Is it weird that I love this just a little too much?

Is it weird that I love this just a little too much?

The other day, an interesting thought wormed its way into my head. It was just a tiny blip that I pushed out immediately, but after thinking about it a little, it intrigued me. Basically, I was gushing about the jacket I just bought (it’s coming tomorrow!), and my friend really wanted to see what it looked like. So I pulled up a runway picture and beamed at it, so sure that she would love it just as much as I did. But she looked at it, and her response wasn’t all that enthusiastic. “Oh,” she said, “I mean…that kind of reminds me of my mom, so…” Now, I can see why it might remind her of her mother (despite the fact that I have never met her mom, nor do I know what she dresses like). It’s true that the oversized blazer is a bit 80’s, blah blah blah. But the fact is that when I put on that jacket, and even when I look at the picture, I get a little giddy and beam inside, but when she looked at it she didn’t respond nearly as positively as I do. When I saw her face, I felt just a tiny bit sad inside that she didn’t share my excitement for my new piece. While it doesn’t make me like the jacket any less, it made me think. I’ve always been big on the fact that I dress for myself and I wear what I like, regardless of what other people may think. I do (and therefore wear) what I like! But as little as I tend to care about what other people think about my clothes, I couldn’t help but be a little forlorn that my friend didn’t share my feelings about my new clothes, which made me wonder if it really is possible to not care at all what others think. I guess what it really is is that, in the end, it’s fun to be able to connect with someone else sartorially or stylistically, and it’s nice to be able to share your excitement over something and receive a positive response. So I suppose it does make me feel a bit lonesome not to have anyone who shares your enthusiasm for something, but ultimately, I’m not going to like my clothes any less (not that I’m all that satisfied, because I am a terrible perfectionist), nor am I going to like things because other people express approval of them. I won’t stop going around in my sometimes ridiculous clothes not really caring how many weird stares I get, but I can do it knowing that, yeah, sometimes it’s lovely to have someone else confirm the fact that I am not just a nutjob.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

