Suffer for Fashion


Gareth Pugh S/S ’09
September 29, 2008, 10:51 am
Filed under: shows | Tags: ,

For spring, Gareth Pugh took his freakshow (and I mean this in the best possible sense) to Paris, and man, I am quite impressed. While I always respected him for his gutsy, dramatic designs, I could never quite connect with it, because there was just no way in hell I was ever going to wear giant balloons of fabric over my head. His clothes just never really clicked in the right way with me, until this collection. And while this collection could be labeled as more “wearable”, I really don’t think it meant he compromised his avant garde sensibilities. I reallllly like the white-in front, black-in-back idea  (reminds me of those fall Chanel tights with lace in front and solid black in back), and there was more than one piece that I could actually imagine someone daring and awesome wearing (Daphne Guiness, perhaps?). The whole show was just so cool looking, in a way that’s hard for me to explain. I’m just intrigued by the ideas, the shapes, and the details. I especially liked the combination of hard-edged, avant garde shapes with softer silhouettes. I think this is a big success for Gareth Pugh.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

