Suffer for Fashion


Louise Goldin S/S ’09
September 22, 2008, 3:18 pm
Filed under: shows | Tags: ,

Let’s get one thing straight: Louise Goldin is pretty freaking awesome. She’s a knitwear expert, but I never associate her with sweaters or normal knit-fare. Every season, I’m sad because I can never find her clothes on this side of the pond, which I so desperately want to see in person (even if I probably can’t afford to shell out for a lot of it, considering my recent terrible penchant for buying ridiculous shoes). This season is no different. She played with the transparency motif that’s continuing through this season from last year (which I am extremely happy about), and she did a great job with structural clothes that didn’t look stiff. That’s the main problem I have with scuptural clothes: they look amazing and beautiful and everything, but the stiffness is a little hard to wear when you’re running around to class and meetings and events all day and biking and getting into shenanigans. But Louise Goldin’s beautifully structured dresses always looked like they’d be so comfortable to wear, but also awesome. And I love the bleached out color palette.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

she is indeed a knit queen
i’d like to work for her, she seems like someone to learn a lot from

Comment by jenjarvis

I’m sure she would be AMAZING to work for, as she’s not huge and self-important (hopefully) but still incredibly innovative and creative.

Comment by laurenqn




Leave a Reply

