Suffer for Fashion


Marc Jacobs S/S ’09
September 9, 2008, 8:07 am
Filed under: Marc Jacobs, shows | Tags:

As usual, when I first flipped through pictures of my dear friend (sartorial friend, not actual friend…but I wish…) Marc Jacobs’ collection late last night, I almost didn’t know what to think. That’s part of what I love about his work, you really have to think about it a while, and even then, there are so many different meanings in all of his collections. He combines so many inspirations and ideas into his collections that you don’t know where one starts and the other begins. The dark colors and checks were reminiscent of his grunge collection for Perry Ellis, but the cuts were almost prim, mostly consisting of long gathered skirts in lurex-y fabrics with large sashes or belts to create this awesome, incredibly lean silhouette. The little straw hats reminded me of Mary Poppins, while some of the clothes reminded me of the prairie, and others reminded me of cities. I loveee that blue and yellow striped dress, though, and, all complicated discussions about influences and meanings aside, this was a pretty big departure from last season (which is always how Msr. Jacobs works), and, as I look at the pictures over and over again, it grows on me every time. Which is exactly what happened last spring with his surrealist collection, which I still can’t get over even two seasons later. Oh, how I love a thought-provoking collection.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

