Suffer for Fashion


Preen S/S ’09
September 8, 2008, 1:51 pm
Filed under: Preen, shows | Tags:

Preen’s spring show convinced me of one thing (that I already knew): Justin Thornton and Thea Bregazzi can make a MEAN dress. There were tons here that I would love to wear, in a combination of the sleek, body-con look they made their name with in London, and the more voluminous, loose shapes they’ve been incorporating since they started showing in New York. There was lots of mesh and panelling, which I love (the dresses whose last couple inches at the bottom were sheer reminded me of my favorite skirt), and details like lacing and zippers. The colors were spot on (neutrals, plus blue and punchy tomato red), and they crafted some pretty interesting denim pieces. So while it wasn’t revolutionary, it was an extremely likeable collection for people who have been fans for a while and people who haven’t really experienced the husband-wife duo’s awesomeness. But GAH do I want a Preen dress. I can’t even find much Preen in San Francisco anyway. Poo.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

