Suffer for Fashion


Somarta
August 20, 2008, 7:15 pm
Filed under: collections, Designers

I admittedly don’t pay as much attention to the smaller fashion weeks as I should. Tokyo Fashion Week, which starts Sept. 1st, is one of those. Being the bad child that I am, I’m really not familiar with Japanese designers except for the big names, which is a shame, because they are some of the most avant-garde and innovative designers out there. One of those designers which I just learned about is Tamae Hirokawa, proteg√© of the legendary Issey Miyake. I can’t get her site to function correctly, so I have limited resources in terms of seeing her work, but what I have seen is pretty cool. She’s big on lace, macrame, and makes good use of Japan’s advanced textile technology. Her fall collection was a strange mix of futuristic and almost country-like elements. The crystals and metal usage was cool, and I kind of liked the hairy leg warmer things and coats. I’m becoming a fan of fuzzy things. Random. Actually now that I think about it, it’s probably a result of Prada’s Fall 07/08 collection. Miuccia seems to pick up on these kind of things magically before everyone else.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

