Suffer for Fashion


Samantha Pleet for Urban Outfitters.
August 14, 2008, 10:27 am
Filed under: collaborations, collections, Designers

I want to like Urban Outfitters, I swear I do. The clothes aren’t outrageously expensive, the stores themselves are pretty cute, the design aesthetic is cool. But it seems like every time I go in there I end up being very underwhelmed by their clothes. Partly because I know that every girl ever is about to own the same shirt, partly because the pieces just don’t seem all that special in the store. There’s something I can’t quite pin down that always makes me go ‘eeehhh…I don’t like this that much. I’ll pass.’ But that haven of silly hipsters and hipster wannabes has been collaborating with quite a few designers that make me want to give them a 15th chance. The next one is Samantha Pleet, who’s pretty darn cool. And her line for UO, Rapscallion, looks, dare I say it, pretty cute. Don’t the models look like they’re in an indie version of Gossip Girl? I will have to check it out when it’s released in October and see if it passes the dreaded UO-real-life-is-worse-than-catalog test.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

