Suffer for Fashion


Roberto Cavalli is a Hypocrite
August 11, 2008, 11:10 am
Filed under: Musings

I’ve never been a big Roberto Cavalli fan, so I was a bit peeved when I read this morning that Kate Moss doesn’t “[have] what it takes to be a true star.” He says, “for me, models are just pieces of wood that I carve to make clothes look beautiful,” he says. “There are thousands of models like all other models. Naomi Campbell is the same way.” There are many things wrong with this statement. First of all, I love models. They make me feel bad about my body and represent the twisted ideals I have been brainwashed to aspire to (kidding! I do envy their height a bit, but I also envy everyone else’s height. So it doesn’t count.).  Second of all, he’s being quite the hypocrite. He doesn’t think Kate Moss is a star, yet she has starred in his ads in many of the past seasons, including this past spring’s ads. If you don’t like models, Roberto, why do you keep using them? And then there’s the kind of bad metaphor he uses. Think about it carefully. Models are pieces of wood that he carves to make clothes look good. Shouldn’t he be carving the clothes to look good? He is a clothing designer, not a model designer. So if he’s carving the models to make the clothes look good, doesn’t that mean that without the models, which are now all carve-y and beautiful thanks to his genius, the clothes are ugly? It’s not the clothes that are being beautified, it’s the models. Silly man.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

