Suffer for Fashion


The Good Old Days
August 2, 2008, 5:23 pm
Filed under: favorite things, Musings, My Closet

One of the vintage pieces I picked up on my trip (it's circa the 40's)

I am absolutely obsessed with vintage jewelry. I love jewelry in general, even though I don’t really wear all that much, but there’s something about vintage jewelry that I absolutely adore. So when my friends and I went to a little town filled with antique and vintage stores in New York called Nyack, I bought a couple pairs of earrings to add to my collection. I feel like costume jewelry used to be made much better than it is now, with better quality and designs. Nowadays, a fairly cheap piece of jewelry just looks so awful and is such bad quality, whereas vintage jewelry that’s around the same price range can look so much nicer. And old jewelry has so much more character. I love thinking about the story behind the piece, where it came from, who owned it before me, where it has been. That’s the kind of jewelry I aspire to make, the kind that people own for years and collects memories.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

