Suffer for Fashion


A Trip to the Museum
July 31, 2008, 12:31 am
Filed under: inspiration, Musings, Yves Saint Laurent

Well, I made it to the Yves Saint Laurent exhibit at the Museé des Beaux Arts in Montreal, and I have to say it was pretty breathtaking. Seeing the outfits in person is just so inspiring, and it really makes you appreciate the detail and craftsmanship that went into his creations. I was in awe of the timelessness of the creations. They had a smoking from 1966 next to one from 2000, and both looked timeless and wearable and modern all at the same time. The pieces were just beautiful. And (pathetic confession alert) when I saw the video of Msr. Saint Laurent taking bows at his shows, and he came out for his bow at his last collection, I was moved to tears. I’m a big sob, so everything makes me cry, but it was still special. And there were sketches that were a lot of fun to look at. The jewelry that went with the clothes were breathtaking. I’m a huge vintage jewelry junkie, so I was in absolute heaven (or hell, because I can’t have any of it). Unfortunately we weren’t allowed to take pictures, so I can’t show you all, but if you have a chance, definitely go see it. Oh, and the dress in the picture above? Breathtaking. When I saw that dress next to a long pink one from the same collection, I actually gasped in awe.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

