Suffer for Fashion


The Youth
July 11, 2008, 12:16 am
Filed under: Designers, Musings, News

I just read a very sad and disheartening little article about the effect of the harsh economy on young designers. The claim: that customers are not only buying less, but when they do go shopping, it’s for the “obvious” names: Prada, Balenciaga, etc, and that the young designers “will be the first to go”. That makes me incredibly sad. As much as I love my Balenciaga and Lanvin and all the big names, I feel like I have a more personal connection to young designers. Being a young person myself, I kind of root for the younger designers, because they’re more like me, and their clothes often fit my lifestyle better. I mean, no matter how much I desperately want, want, want a Lanvin dress, where would I wear it? I do, on the other hand, wear my Phillip Lim, my Vena Cava, all the clothes from the younger set of rising designers. And, honestly, as my knowledge of fashion has grown and my tastes have evolved, I’m liking the kind of young, less well-known designers more and more, partly because they bring a fresh approach to the table, and I don’t see their designs everywhere I turn. So keep trucking, young designers! I support you! Keep making beautiful/crazy/cool clothes! Create our generation’s legacy!

image:source
2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

u r an avid blogger

-urs truly, from the other side of the kickball wall

Comment by ur lover

thanks. I try. Or maybe I have too much time on my hands. Hah.

Comment by laurenqn




Leave a Reply

