Suffer for Fashion


New York, I Love You
July 10, 2008, 10:21 pm
Filed under: Musings, shopping

I am in the middle of a difficult and trying task. In a mere week, I will be taking New York City by storm! Unfortunately, I do not have very long to be there, which is where my difficulty lies. I have a list. A list of stores I would like to check out in the Big Apple. You see, shopping in New York is kind of akin to sightseeing for me. But I just don’t have enough time to see them all, and so I have to thin the list out a lot bit into a reasonable number. The problem is, I have conflicting goals. Part of me just wants me to be practical and hit up the stores that will most likely yield delicious discoveries for me to return triumphantly home with. Another part of me insists that I make appearances at the institutions, the places where I’m fairly certain I will leave empty-handed, but are places I feel like I at least need to see, because they are just so important! The Prada flagship is one of those. I already raided the original Prada store in Milan last year, so I feel like I already have my fill of Prada for the near future (at least until the Prada store in San Francisco opens…ack). But the Rem Koolhaas-designed space is just so iconic I feel compelled to visit. Last time I was in NYC (over a year ago), I didn’t have time to see it, and I am very guilty. There are a few that fit into both categories, like Opening Ceremony, pictured above, but those make up a small minority of my list. So what to do, stick with the practical, or indulge my romantic, shopping pilgrimage side? Anyone have suggestions as to stores I absolutely have to see?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very nice!!

Comment by Ceperorrywamp




Leave a Reply

